In Print.

While I’m a daily reader, I don’t get my hands on too many fly fishing magazines. For one, all too frequently the stories between the covers relate to fishing in wild and foreign destinations that, for now, remain slightly out of reach. I devour the local publications that cater to the water I fish, but the glossy covered mags are often take me half way around the globe. While these stories are interesting, it appears that many of the magazines are in the same places at the same time. Most recently, for example, everyone seems to be fishing in Cuba, and writing about it.

That said, I’ve read some good stuff recently, and happy to see some local love.

Camera 360

Eastern Fly Fishing always has some good information and great photography and writing, and since it;s a regional publication, I pick Camera 360it up every chance I get. In this particular issue, fly fishing writer Beau Beasley came to my neck of the woods and fished the same beaches as I do, with Terry Peach, owner of A Marblehead Flyfisher in northern Delaware. It was great seeing familiar locations and fisherman in glossy photographs. Now I know what it’s like to live in Montana. (Not really.)

 

 

 

 

Camera 360

Sticking with the somewhat local scene, Fly Rod & Reel Magazine has a great article on fishing the Delaware River with dry flies. It’s not so much a how-to as it is a memoir, or a travelogue, but like all good fly fishing writing, there is fishing knowledge to be found in the words. Rod & Reel always has some of the best outdoor photography. Also in this edition, an excellent article on the problem of man-made global warming.  Many publications are hiding from this issue. It’s bad for business, and there seems to be an opinion that many readers will find it a political issue, and one they disagree with. Ted Williams does a great job of presenting a fair overview of the problem, backs it up with data and statistics, and explains why this is a problem for those of us that love fishing and the outdoors. A worthy read on an important issue from a good source.

Camera 360

My Dad recently visited our native England, and came back with a fly fishing magazine he’d seen on a newsstand shelf. I was interested to compare this publication to it’s American counterparts, because when I was last in England, I visited several tackle shops, and all of them appeared to suggest that England had one fish, and one fish only. Carp. The shelves of the stores were loaded with boilies and carp rod holders and all the gear associated with chasing golden ghosts. Even though I went trout fishing in England myself, and knew that trout were available and commonly fished for, I saw no evidence of it in tackle shops, and fly shops were nonexistent. But, in the pages of Total Flyfisher, trout is the main event. There is truly not a great deal of difference. The fly anglers int he pages could be the same guys you see in American publications, and while the names of the companies are different, the same gadgets and gizmos are up for sale between articles. One significant difference I noticed was an article on the possibility and viability of using float tubes to catch fish, a practice employed often by stateside fly anglers for years.

Camera 360

 

Leave a comment

Filed under England, Foreign Fish, Industry, Writers

Leave a Reply

