The Stationery Set Fly Box.

With all the fly boxes I’ve made over time, I find myself rotating them in and out of service depending on the flies I’ll be carrying and if I’m hiking to water or fishing 20 feet from my vehicle. The latest, however, has a few perks and a little more size than the old Altoid box, and assuming it performs well out on the water, it might well become the mainstay of my collection.

Over Christmas, I was rummaging through some boxes in an attic space at my parents house that were full of stuff thats been around since I was a kid. Toys, books, magazines, clothes, and the like. Amongst the clutter, I found a red stationery box that I remembered had been with us a long time. I though it belonged to my brother, but apparently it had belonged to my Dad. It contained the usual items; scissors, glue, a small stapler, some tape.

The Stationery box, as found.....

Removing the inner material was a simple matter of peeling back the molded layers of foam designed to keep the contents of the box in place, which left a thin layer of closed-cell foam on the bottom; enough, it turns out, to securely hold a fly, which eliminated having to cut and glue a new pad to set my flies on. On the lid side of the box, I left the tape measure in it’s place. I’m not one for measuring my catch very often, but there have been times I’d have liked to, but had no tape. I’d resort to the old time-tested method of measuring with my rod, but the tape is more accurate and since it remains enclosed in a fly box, I’m not carrying an extra item in my bag. I also left the small, latched container space in its place.

…and was all there was to it. I loaded the box with some select flies I’ve been using frequently as of late in the various nearby waters, and used the small latch-able space to store some smaller dry flies, nymphs, and a few split shot, so that I’d never find myself on the water again, wondering where the hell my split shot was when I needed it.

Spacious, functional, and multi-purpose, and best of all, free.

Leave a comment

Filed under DIY, Fly Boxes, Gear

Leave a Reply

